Book Review: King Rat, by China Meiville

King RatKing Rat by China Miéville
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m impressed with Mievills’s creativity in taking the story of the Pied Piper and translating it into a modern story. Its creative, its intreging.

I really enjoyed the story. It took me over halfway through the book to figure out that it was the Pied Piper story retold. And it took a fair bit for me to get over the utter grossness at times — and I have a pretty high save against “gross”. I am reluctant to recommend this book, even though its a good story, as the f-bomb is dropped regularly and repeatedly. The violence is a bit OTT at times, but I can still see its place in the story.

At first I was rather turned off by the narrative…. tatooed silence and vampiric sights (or some such, I forget exactly). But once I got past it, I guess I can deal and still enjoy the story.

I’m kinda interested to find some jungle on youtube, just to see what it hears like (funny that I can say “see” what it “hears” like). Who knows if I will, though.

If you can handle regular f-bombs, a good bit of gross, and gratuitous violence, this is a good story.

View all my reviews

One comment


Please do comment!

