Summer

 

You might say that summer snuck in and surprised us. We knew it was coming, but we didn’t reach 100′ at all in May. And now, several days into June, and no 100′ days yet. Yes, we are seeing mid-90s regularly…. but is that summer? We are in central Texas after all, where our non-growing-seasons are July and August (not Dec – March, like most areas of the country) and its for the heat and sun, not the cold and snow. But when the a/c kicks on at 11 am, you know it must be summer, even if the thermometer is still suggesting that its spring.

The last several months have been busy and good. We traveled, we garage saled, we saw friends, we said good-bye to friends (both permanent-for-this-life and moving-away goodbyes). We helped friends move/pack up a truck. We are looking ahead to say good-bye to more friends as they move off to new jobs (ah, joys of grad school). We continue to wait. We are in the ‘approved and waiting’ stage for adopting an infant domestically, which means we wait. We are trying to wait well: with intentionality and expectation, while still living in this moment not in some future possible moment. The March, April and May in my flylady calender have very little white space left on them. June still has a fair bit and I hope to keep it that way.
I do have a few goals/hopes for the summer. First to work faithfully through “The Well-trained Mind: the classical education you never had”. I found that I really miss academics, so I decided to bring academics to me. If there is anyone interested in working through this with me, please let me know! I’d love to have a friend to talk with about the material (I’m delving into the history/politics chapter right now).
Second, I want to be more intentional about doing *stuff* (some might call it ‘school’, but my plans are so loosy-goosy, I’m not willing to use that word. Maybe ‘activity’ is a good word?) with Little Man. He turned 3 (!) in May, and is asking so many questions about so many things. He is all kinds of interested in stars, dinosaurs, what things eat, and what/who is a person. Its so exciting to see him exploring these various ideas, and I want to give him the fodder for further explanation.
For our first activity, we read a book about digging up dinosaurs and putting them together again (from the library). I had seen this activity as a pre-schooler fun activity, and a week or so ago, I froze 5 plastic dinosaurs in a bucket of water. I set Little Man up in the back yard with the block of ice in our water/sand table (emptied of water and sand!) with some water and salt (table salt and rock salt). I showed him how the salt causes the ice to melt and how the liquid water helps the the salt do its thing, and set him free. It was nearly 2 hours later before we got the first dinosaur out, and the others came quickly after. At the end, Little Man asked “can we dig more dinosaurs out?” He enjoys the activity, gets some good sensory and thought provoking play and I get a bit of on-my-own time to read or do my own thing. I’m always looking for these win-win activities.
DSCN3851

Getting started.

DSCN3853

salt.. and more salt... and more salt. Mommy, can I have more salt?

salt.. and more salt… and more salt. Mommy, can I have more salt?

DSCN3855

This little thing doesn't hold much water....

This little thing doesn’t hold much water….

Almost there

Almost there

Free at last!

Free at last!

Please do comment!

