Pudding Comparisons, includes one non-dairy option

Do you have those days where, quite honestly, nothing but chocolate pudding sounds good? Yep, had that last night, so I made pudding. I’m one of those people who MAKES pudding, not add milk to powder and calls it pudding. Plus, my way is cheaper and tastes so much better.

I do have two different recipes for which are good in different ways. First, I present the very much not vegan or dairy free (which I hear lots of these days, for no particular reason having to do with my situation)… Real Simple’s ‘Chocolate Pots”…

2/3 cup sugar

2 tbsp cornstartch

1/8 tsp salt (says kosher, but I’ve done it with kosher and not kosher and its the same either way)

3 cups whole milk (or some combination of milks to make 3 cups)

4 large egg yolks

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

6 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped (I just use semi-sweet chocolate chips, because I’m cheap like that)

Mix together the sugar, cornstarch and salt in a medium sauce pan. Add 1/3 cup  milk, stirring to form a smooth paste. Whisk in the remaining milk and the egg yolks.Cook over medium heat, stirring (mostly) constantly until thickened, about 15 minutes.Remove from heat. Add the vanilla and the chocolate, stirring until chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.Pour into eight 4 oz ramekins, covered, until well chilled. (I poured into 4 8 oz coffee mugs and ate one while still very warm.)

Second recipe for comparison is from foodrenegade.com. She’s had some good ideas and recipes up, and this was one…

1/3 cup honey (I just use sugar, because I don’t like the flavor honey gives)

4 tbsp arrowroot powder (I use cornstarch…)

2 tbsp cocoa powder

2 cups milk (or coconut milk, she says)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp butter (or omit for vegan/dairy free form)

In a glass measuring cup, which together arrowroot powder, cocoa, and milk until relatively smooth (You actually want it very smooth, otherwise you’ll have lumps in your final pudding). In a small sauce pan, combine the honey and the milk mixture over medium heat. Cook until thickened, stirring constantly.

Once thickened, remove from heat, stir in vanilla and butter until evenly distributed.

Here’s what I’ve found — I really like the smoothness of the real simple recipe, I think it must be the egg yolks. And those it is good when consumed warm, the texture and flavor improve with chilling (as per the recipe…)

But the food renegade recipe makes better pudding for immediate consumption. It gets watery and wonky once it sits in the fridge overnight, though, and the texture really suffers. And for the sister and friends who have gone dairy free, egg free, or vegan, though I’ve never made it with coconut milk, she offers it an a viable option. 

Both do give a nice smooth pudding at the end, and both are pretty good. Its all about how they leave-over.

Please do comment!

