I have not fallen off the face of the earth

I promise.

I have stayed very busy, though. Not like exceptional busy, just the general busy of always having something to do. Between general house keeping, Peanut, kittens, and maintaining sanity, my days are filled.

Highlights of the past week–

Peanut got a haircut.

Before:

After:

He looks like a boy, again! Yea! (Yes, I have ideas like ‘boys have short hair’.)

Kittens get everywhere. Phobos was going after some discarded dinner leftovers. She is the loudest kitty I’ve ever had, and begs, begs, begs.


The kittens love milk…

And go into quite the frenzy if the fridge door is opened. They love muffin, corn, spaghetti noodles, yogurt and most anything else Peanut offers them. He loves to feed them and they have learned that when he is in his seat, there is likely to be crumbs to scrounge. I’ve closed them up in our room more than once so Peanut would eat his food rather than try to feed it to the cats.

Peanut *loves* the kittens. We are working on ‘gentle’ and ‘kind’ and he is getting better. He has figured out how to move a stick with a string or ribbon on it so the kitten chases the string (or ribbon) — see above picture.

I’m learning not to leave anything out on the counter food-wise. I’m likely to find one or the other eating the food if I do. You’d think we didn’t actually feed them they way they beg and grab.

In my effort to give ‘good’ gifts (to any child I give a gift to), I’ve decided to make quiet books for the various nephews and one niece (so far). I made Peanut’s cover as a chance to do one and see what I need to figure out. Easy-peasy, especially with the nifty buttonhole foot and stitch on my machine. The machine will even stitch a button on! Woo-hoo!

I did end up making Peanut’s backwards. I ended up stitching it so the strap buttons in the back. Ah, well. That’s why I made one before embarking on making multiples. I figure I’ll aim to give a few pages for the book each birthday and Christmas. I even saw a ‘Star Trek’ themed quiet book on google images. That is so cool… Maybe I can do some Star Wars pages and sorts. Peanut will need a kitten page, for sure. I need to get some binder rings that will hold the pages in (see those little button holes on the right side, those are for the binder rings to go through). This cover is quite floppy and soft, not like most of the ones I’ve seen  floating around on the web. I need to decide if I want the cover stiff, and thus add interfacing, or let it stay soft.

I have lots of page ideas floating around in my  head, and I’ll aim to get pictures and put them up as I finish them. I figure the niece and nephews don’t read my blog so it should ruin their surprise (or will it? hmmm….)

One comment

  1. Pingback: Turning 7 « Younger News


Please do comment!

