Can I blame it on busyness?

Is that a word? ‘busyness’? Seems like it should be “business”, but that is pronounced differently. Ah, well, I’m sure you get the idea.

You might have noticed my posting rate has dropped drastically. Yep, its true. Ah, you say, the Peanut is keeping you busy? yes, yes, and yes. The child wants to be outside, but Mommy says ‘no’ when its over 100′. We’ve made it out most mornings, but even then we both work up a sweat. We play a lot, on the floor in the living room, in his bedroom, outside, in the dining room. We love to play!

The garden is also keeping me busy. Just look at all this produce!

I’ve already made 5 pints of salsa, and a pot of spaghetti, plus 5 or 6 pints of green enchilada sauce with the tomatillos and some undetermined amount of salsa verde. And I’ve eaten a slew of tomatoes on sandwiches and wraps. The squash bugs are getting overwhelming on the tomato plants, so I’m picking the tomatoes early (when they are just starting to ripen). I’ve lost a slew of tomatoes to blossom end rot, and I think they are starting to suffer heat damage as well (it is freaking hot here! 105′ yesterday!). All the tomatoes have stopped setting fruit as far as I can tell, so as they give up all their tomatoes as ripe, they are coming out. I will be able to put the peppers in (currently in pots), which will be nice for the peppers. I’m also thinking to just give the ground some rest till I plant for the fall. I’m thinking about getting a hold of a bale of hay and spreading that out. It will help keep the ground cool and damp, and will mix right in when I’m ready to plant the fall crops (lettuce, kale, garlic, broccoli).

I stopped picking the sweet pea current tomatoes (the itty-bitty round ones) and rarely pick the cherry romas. I can’t keep up eating them, and when I start feeling overwhelmed by them, I don’t want to eat them. :::sigh:::

On a more personal note, I’m working hard to not be a martyr… you know, “oh, poor me, I’m so busy, poor me”. It’s really not ‘poor me’. I love what I’m doing, and yes, I stay busy (some times it feels like crazy busy) and I get frustrated when I don’t get as much done because we are playing outside so much. But I know that this is where I want to be, and I’m doing what I want to do. I can’t ask for a bigger blessing than this.

And I had a birthday this week. Goodness, 35. Yep, not ashamed to say so. Each year keeps getting better, and that was true this last year again. So far, this trend has shown its self true, so I’m looking ahead with gleeful anticipation with what the future will bring.

One comment

  1. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a
    few technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site lots
    of times previous to I could get it to load
    correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again soon..


Please do comment!

