Homekeeping Blogs

I realized that I was far overdue for the next installment of homekeeping resources. The online world is so massive and I decided I needed to reread one of the books I was recommending, so I decided to break up what was becoming a very long post into at least 2 posts (maybe 3?) Here is one part of the online resources: websites and blogs. Okay, just blogs.

The Blogs

The world of blogs has exploded in recent years. There is a blog for every topic and every stage of life. I’m still learning that though I found this blog (or that blog) interesting and useful at some point in the past, its okay to delete it from the RSS reader if its not doing that for me now. Here is a list of current favorites (and how long, approximate) with commentary.
Like Mother, Like Daughter (http://ourmothersdaughters.blogspot.com/) I LOVE this blog. The authors are catholic and so occasionally I might skip a post on ideas for celebrating the feast of this saint or that saint, but as often as not, I will still read the post to see what goodies I might find. See, Auntie Leila, who is the mother of a brood of 7 children and the grandmother of 4 (I think), is the primary author and she offers so much wisdom. It is so worth reading the achieves on meal planning, raising children, loving your husband, and a slew of other worthy topics. She preaches community (which I think is so wise!). I enjoy the Thursday “Pretty, Funny, Happy, Real” even if I don’t post my own. I really enjoy the weekend “Bits and Pieces” which is articles, websites, videos etc that were found interesting of the week before. I find that just as I reread LFL or Home Comforts occasionally, this is a blog I need to come and read articles on certain topics, such as meal planning (I printed that series up and put it in a ‘meal planning journal’) and raising children.
Simple Mom (http://simplemom.net/) This blog is just refreshing. I really enjoy the ‘Weekend Links’ usually published on Saturday or Sunday. The various posts through out the week might cover just being a mother, or parent, or homeschooling, or something fun to do, or a reflection on life.
Money Saving Mom (http://moneysavingmom.com/) This blog could be very overwhelming if you don’t know what you are getting in to. Continually, throughout the day from Monday to Saturday (the blog is quite quiet on Sunday), of shopping deals, ways to earn extra income (think swagbucks and the like), goal setting, and meal planning. She, Crystal, often puts up posts on a topic, such as getting up in the morning, not running out of blog post ideas, or organizing something. I have my feeds set up in feedly, and will, in the index view, mark a whole slew of posts as read without opening them. The post titles do a good job of telling you what is actually in the post.

Why just blogs?

As I wrote this post, I realized that I mostly read blogs. I don’t read many other web sites, though I might read an article here or there via links on facebook or a blog post. I think this relates back to the ‘living book’ aspect of writing. These blogs are written by women who are passionate about what they write about. This is what makes the blogs come alive and makes them worth reading.
So, go out and find a few blogs that cover the topics you care about. If you already have a favorite, leave a link in a comment.
Please do comment!

